Osho Chakra Breathing Meditation

This active meditation is based on breathing technique. It uses deep, rapid breathing and body movement to open and bring awareness, vitality and silence to each of the seven chakras and thus into the life. It is accompanied by special music and bells that energetically support the process.This meditation is best done on an empty stomach.

All chakras lie deep within, rather than on the surface of the body. The following “map” is used to indicate their approximate locations:


      1. Muladhara (Base) chakra:                          the sex center, lower pelvis
      2. Svadhisthana (Sacral) chakra:                   just below the navel
      3. Manipura (Solar plexus) chakra:              above the navel, below the breastbone
      4. Anahata (Heart) chakra:                             the middle of the chest
      5. Vishuddha (Throat) chakra:                      the throat
      6. Ajna (Third eye) chakra:                             between the eyebrows
      7. Sahasrara (Crown) chakra:                        top of the head

Rebirthing shi e1656399354687

The meditation has 2 stages:

1st stage: Stand with your feet a little apart, your body loose and relaxed. With open mouth breathe deeply and rapidly into the first chakra, with equal emphasis on in and out breaths. Keep your attention in the pelvic area, where the first chakra is located. Breathe in a rhythm that feels comfortable and become aware of the feelings and sensations of the chakra.
Each time you hear a bell, move this same deep, rapid breathing up to the next chakra, letting your breathing become more rapid and gentler. You will take about twice as many breaths in the seventh chakra than in the first.

You can shake, stretch, rotate or move your body and hands as you feel, but your feet stay in one spot. Once you set the breathing and body in motion, the movement will become continuous and effortless. Your awareness remains primarily with the sensations of the chakras.




After breathing in the seventh chakra, you will hear three bells. Now let your breath and awareness turn and fall back down through each chakra, your breath slowing from chakra to chakra. You have about two minutes to reach back to the first chakra. Let the whole chakra spectrum from top to bottom blend into one rainbow of energy.

After this sequence, stand silently for a moment, then start the next sequence. You will complete three full sequences upward and downward.


2nd stage: After the third breathing sequence, sit relaxed and in silence. Remain a witness to whatever is happening within, without judgment.


More information, times and dates about this
and other practices is available by downloading our 
 calendar of activities

Rebirthing Aravind e1656365372400